May    2019

Live News

BJP faces massive setbacks in UP, Bihar bypolls

Wednesday,14 Mar 2018 04:05 PM IST

The BJP suffers an unexpected setback in the parliamentary bypolls held in Uttar Pradesh as the saffron party's lead dramatically came down in CM Yogi Adityanath's Gorakhpur and deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya's Phulpur constituencies.

Samajwadi Party (SP) candidates have been leading at both the constituencies while the BJP is trailing at the Arariya Lok Sabha seat and the two assembly seats in Bihar.

SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad is contesting with the support of BSP leads by more than 27000 votes in Gorakhpur while the BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla trials behind him. SP's Nagendra Singh Patel is leading by 23000 votes in BJP's sitting seat Phulpur.

UP CM Yogi Aditynath had been elected from the Gorakhpur constituency for the last 25 years and with bigger margins each time. The BJP had expected the same in the bypolls as the depleted opposition not even able to regroup after their crushing defeat in the previous assembly election. But the massive setbacks in the by poll results today shook the entire BJP camp and rejuvenated the opposition parties, who have been searching for new political equations.

The UP bypolls have had an unprecedented significance this time as the SP and BSP joined hands leaving aside their 25 years of rivalry.

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Media Eye. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.....


Comments (0)

Using 0 of 1024 Possible Characters

Galileo was an Italian astronomer who ?