May    2019

Live News

Congress introduces new committee

Saturday,17 Feb 2018 07:37 AM IST

Media Eye News Bureau: Congress President Rahul Gandhi dissolved its Central Working Committee (CWC), and formed a 34-member Steering Committee to replace it for the upcoming plenary session.

All CWC members are part of the new committee; however some of the permanent invitees like Amarinder Singh, Vilas Muttemwar, RK Dhawan, Shivajirao Deshmukh, MV Rajasekharan and Mohsina Kidwai, among others have been dropped.

The Steering Committee is set to shortly decide its schedule for the plenary session. The committee will function till the plenary session, after which a new CWC will be put in place and the new members for the same will be elected either at the plenary or after it.

The Steering Committee includes the party president and CPP chairperson Sonia Gandhi, besides former prime minister Manmohan Singh. It also includes party leaders A K Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ambika Soni, Janardan Dwivedi, Ashok Gehlot, Sushilkumar Shinde, P Chidambaram, Oscar Fernandes, Anand Sharma, CP Joshi, Digvijay Singh, BK Hari Prasad, Kamal Nath, Mallikarjun Kharge, Motilal Vora, Hemo Prova Saikia and Randeep Surjewala.

Leaders PL Punia, RPN Singh, Deepak Babariya, RC Khuntia, KC Venugopal and Avinash Pande are included in the new committee as well.

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Media Eye. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.....


Comments (0)

Using 0 of 1024 Possible Characters

Fastest shorthand writer was ?