June    2020

Live News

8 Wright Sites Added to UNESCO World Heritage List  

Newyork: Eight buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and built in the United States between 1909 and 1959 have been added to UNESCO's World Heritage List, which considers inscribed sites "to be of outstanding value to humanity."
The inscription happened on Sunday, July 7, at the 43rd session of the World Heritage Committee, which took place in Baku. The announcement comes just over four years after ten buildings designed by Wright were submitted to UNESCO, though according to the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, which coordinated the effort, the nomination has been in development for more than 15 years.
The oldest of the eight buildings is Unity Temple, completed in 1909 in Wright's then-hometown of Oak Park, Illinois, while the youngest is the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City, which was completed in 1959, the year Wright died at the age of 91 (he did not live long enough to see its opening).
The eight Wright sites:
    Unity Temple, Oak Park, Illinois, 1909
    Frederick C. Robie House, Chicago, Illinois, 1910
    Taliesin, Spring Green, Wisconsin, 1911
    Hollyhock House, Los Angeles, California, 1921
    Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, Madison, Wisconsin, 1937
    Taliesin West, Scottsdale, Arizona, 1938
    Fallingwater, Mill Run, Pennsylvania, 1939
    Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, NY, 1959

The two buildings missing from the ten submitted in 2015 are Price Tower in Bartlesville, Oklahoma, and Marin County Civic Center in San Rafael, California.

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Media Eye. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.....


Comments (0)

Using 0 of 1024 Possible Characters