TN CM Cauvery dellta

123 0

Chennai:  Tamil Nadu CM K. Palaniswami on Sunday announces  the Cauvery delta region will be declared as a 'protected agricultural zone' and government will come out with a law after consulting legal experts.Laying foundation stone at Salem for Advanced Institute for Integrated Research on Livestock and Animal Sciences (AIIRLIVAS) CM said  Cauvery delta region is near to coastline and in future to meet risk of sea water incursion Cauvery region should be protected.

Cauvery delta region Thanjavur, Tiruvarur, Trichy, Ariyalur, Nagapattinam, Pudukkottai, Cuddalore and Karur will be protected agricultural zones for Tamil Nadu's food security. Farmers in the Cauvery delta region witnessed several protests by farmers and opposition parties over permission given for hydrocarbon exploration projects.

Owing to the free cattle scheme, farmers' living conditions have improved much in Tamil Nadu. The Chief Minister also announced the state government will not give permission for hydro-carbon exploration projects in the Cauvery delta region to prevent them turning to desert in coming years.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *