Opposition parties go ahe

84 0

The opposition parties have submitted a notice for the impeachment of the Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra to Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu. The Congress claimed that around 60 MPs have signed the letter.

The four senior most judges in the Supreme Court had already revolted against the CJI two months ago and publicly expressed their displeasure in the activities of the CJI by conducting a press meet outside the lawns of the SC, an unprecedented move in the history of Indian judiciary. The four judges also sent a letter to the CJI for the immediate corrections required in the function of the top court.

But the sudden move to proceed with the impeachment motion by the Congress came out in the wake of an order passed by the bench headed by the CJI to not investigate further in the death of Judge BH Loya and that, Loya died due to natural causes.

The opposition parties headed by the Congress had convened today and decided to go ahead with the impeachment letter with the support of NCP, Trinamool Congress, SP and RJD in the meeting.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *