Pramod Sawant Clears Floo

39 0

PANAJI: Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant has successfully overcome the floor test in the state assembly after 20 members voted in favour of the CM, whereas 15 voted against him.

Now the BJP-led government has 21 members including three Maharashtrawadi Gomanthak Party (MGP), three Goa Forward Party (GFP) and three independent members along with the 12 BJP members while the Congress party has 14 members and one seat for NCP.

Goa assembly was reduced to 36 from 40 members after the death of 2 MLAs including Manohar Parrikar and the resignation of other two Congress members.

 In an unprecedented way of political developments, BJP's Pramod Savanth took oath as the Chief Minister of Goa, at 2 am yesterday. The midnight ceremony occurred after party chief Amit Shah engaged in hectic parleys with the parties attached to the front, soon after the demise of Manohar Parrikar.

Two lawmakers of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) joined the BJP which made light works for Amit Shah to form a new government in the coastal state. Pramod Sawant was the Speaker in the Manohar Parrikar government.

Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Goa Forward Party got deputy CM post as the latter had objected to the former Speaker's promotion.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *