Shiv Sena NCP Congress

Shiv Sena  NCP  Congress

Mumbai: The Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress staked Monday's claim to power in Maharashtra after the Governor had signed support signatures from 162 MLAs. The NCP, whose party claims Ajit Pawar is with the BJP, submitted 51 of its 54 MLAs signatures. The three parties claim the support of enough MLAs for a majority in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly.  Signatures from 63 MLAs (including independents) were submitted by the Shiv Sena, Congress 44, NCP 51. Also, the Samajwadi Party joined the three parties and submitted two members ' signatures. The parties went to Raj Bhawan, the Mumbai residence of Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, at a time when the Supreme Court heard their petition against the early morning dramatic oath ceremony in which Devendra Fadnavis of the BJP became chief minister with Ajit Pawar of the NCP as his deputy.

The Supreme Court will announce its decision tomorrow on the petition, which calls the sudden government formation "unconstitutional".


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *